Announcements about your neigbourhood

Like building plans and traffic measures


Like taxes, benifits and subsidies

Policy & law

official government publications

Contact details governments

Contact details governments



Protocol relating to refugee seamen

Parties with reservations, declarations and objections

Party Reservations / Declarations Objections
France Yes No
Italy Yes No
Morocco Yes No
Netherlands, the Kingdom of the Yes No



France does not consider itself bound by the provisions of article 2 and declares that any disputes relating to the interpretation or application of the Protocol which cannot be settled by other means may be referred to the International Court of Justice only with the agreement of all the parties to the dispute.



Italy confirms the validity of the reservations it made when depositing the instrument of acceptance of the Agreement relating to refugee seamen, adopted in The Hague on 23 November 1957.



In the event of a dispute, any recourse to the International Court of Justice must be based on the consent of all interested parties.

Netherlands, the Kingdom of the


The Kingdom of the Netherlands consisted of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consisted of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.
With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Since that date, the Kingdom consists of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten.
Curaçao and Sint Maarten enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do. The other islands of the Netherlands Antilles - Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba - are administratively integrated in the Netherlands, forming 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'.
These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded.
The [...] Protocol, that applied until now only to the European part of the Netherlands and Aruba, [is] declared applicable to the Caribbean part of the Netherlands. The Government of the Netherlands is responsible for implementing [...] the Protocol.

Go to top