Announcements about your neigbourhood

Like building plans and traffic measures


Like taxes, benifits and subsidies

Policy & law

official government publications

Contact details governments

Contact details governments



Agreement relating to Refugee seamen

Parties with reservations, declarations and objections

Party Reservations / Declarations Objections
Italy Yes No
Netherlands, the Kingdom of the Yes No
New Zealand Yes No
Portugal Yes No



1. Italy's accession to the Agreement should be interpreted as applying to all provisions which do not conflict with the Italian Navigation Code currently in force and which do not entail amendments or exceptions to that Code.
2. In the Contracting Parties to the Geneva Convention of 29 July 1951, all refugees except seafarers are deemed to become lawfully resident, as referred to in article 28 of the said Convention and paragraphs 6 and 11 of the Schedule, on the date they receive authorisation to reside in the State in question.
Extracts from the Italian Navigation Code:
Article 119, paragraph 1
All Italian citizens between the ages of 15 and 25 may be registered as seafarers, provided they meet the conditions laid down in the regulations for each category. For doctors, the age limit shall be raised to 35 years.
Article 318
The crew of national armed vessels in the Republic's ports shall be made up entirely of Italian citizens.
In special cases, the Ministry of the Merchant Navy may authorise the inclusion among the ordinary seamen of foreign citizens, who may make up no more than one third of the crew.
Article 319
In foreign ports for maritime or inland navigation, if it is impossible to find either seamen or navigators of Italian nationality, it is permitted to recruit foreign citizens; they may make up no more than a quarter of the crew, and shall be engaged only for the duration of the voyage in question.
In special cases, the consular authority may authorise the recruitment of foreign citizens in numbers representing a proportion greater than that specified in the preceding paragraph.

Netherlands, the Kingdom of the


The Kingdom of the Netherlands consisted of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consisted of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.
With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Since that date, the Kingdom consists of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten.
Curaçao and Sint Maarten enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do. The other islands of the Netherlands Antilles - Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba - are administratively integrated in the Netherlands, forming 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'.
These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded.
The Agreement [...], that applied until now only to the European part of the Netherlands and Aruba, [is] declared applicable to the Caribbean part of the Netherlands. The Government of the Netherlands is responsible for implementing the Agreement [...].

New Zealand


The accession shall not extend to the Cook Islands, Niue and the Tokelau Islands.



[...] that the acceptance, by Portugal, of the said Agreement, doesn't imply the obligations of assuring employment in the portuguese ships to the refugee seamen.

Go to top